John Lo

联合常务董事

  • 新加坡最高法院辩护人兼律师
  • 新加坡仲裁员协会(MSiArb)会员
  • 诺丁汉大学法学学士(荣誉学位)(毕业于2013 年)

John Lo is a co-founder and Joint Managing Director of RCL Chambers Law Corporation. John undertakes a broad range of work in the areas of complex commercial arbitration and commercial litigation. He regularly appears before the Singapore Courts and has also been involved in ad hoc arbitrations and arbitrations administered by several institutions.

在成立 RCL Chambers Law Corporation 之前,John 曾在美国一家著名的律师事务所从事法律工作,并曾在一位资深律师的领导下工作。

John曾处理过合资企业和股东纠纷、信托和遗产纠纷、涉及欺诈的索赔、违反董事职责的案件、复杂的合同和商业纠纷以及与破产有关的纠纷。他还处理过涉及白领犯罪和雇佣纠纷的案件。

代表作品集

  • 在石油贸易、船舶所有和船舶租赁公司的欺诈性交易、不当优惠、非法分红和违反董事职责的索赔案中,担任该公司董事的代理律师。索赔金额超过 35 亿美元:部分报道见 Lim Oon Kuin 等人诉 Ocean Tankers (Pte) Ltd(任命临时司法经理)[2022] 1 SLR 434。
  • 在一起涉及英属维尔京群岛和中国公司法问题的共谋和违反董事职责索赔案中,为总部位于新加坡的一家跨国材料公司的一名董事担任代理律师:报道于 Hector Finance Group Limited and others v Chan Chew Keak [2023] SGHC 127。
  • 在一起共谋和违反董事职责的索赔案中为一家技术制造公司的前董事担任代理律师:在 Beyonics Asia Pacific Pte Ltd and others v Goh Chan Peng and another [2020] 4 SLR 215;Goh Chan Peng and others v Beyonics Technology Ltd and another and another appeal [2017] 2 SLR 592 中进行了报道。
  • 在新加坡一家破产时装企业的不当优惠、低价交易和违反董事职责的索赔案中为该企业的一名董事担任代理律师:在 Living the Link Pte Ltd(债权人自愿清算)等人诉 Tan Lay Tin Tina 等人 [2016] 3 SLR 621 一案中作了报告。
  • 在与其他股东的持续纠纷中,为一家房地产投资企业的股东提供顾问服务。
  • 在一项国际商会仲裁中为世界最大的造船公司代理,该仲裁涉及为在中东开采天然气而建造的管道和设施。该索赔案价值约 85 亿美元,涉及对管道工艺和缺陷的复杂技术指控。
  • 在根据 SIAC 规则对全球最大在线零售商进行的紧急仲裁中,担任一家大型印度零售商的代理律师。该索赔涉及拟将该印度零售商的业务出售给另一家企业集团,涉及金额达数十亿美元,并在印度法院引发了广泛的诉讼。
  • 在一家行业领先的电信运营商与其合资伙伴就运营 3G 移动网络所需的电信基础设施的供应和定价发生争议时,担任该运营商的代理律师。这是根据联合国国际贸易法委员会规则进行的特别仲裁,索赔金额约为 1 亿美元。
  • 在阿曼塞拉莱电力和海水淡化设施建设和开发项目与中国国有总承包商的纠纷中,为一家新加坡上市公司的子公司担任代理律师。这是根据联合国国际贸易法委员会规则进行的特别仲裁,仲裁庭设在英格兰和威尔士,由香港国际仲裁中心管理。索赔金额约为 2000 万美元。
  • 在 SIAC 仲裁中为一家美国制造业跨国公司代理,该仲裁涉及在收购一家中国企业时违反陈述和保证。索赔金额约为 2000 万美元。
  • 为新加坡一家发电公司提供咨询,帮助其了解根据天然气销售协议承担的收取或支付义务,以及将争议提交仲裁的前景。
  • 就许可协议下的终止权以及将争议提交仲裁的前景为一家跨国制药公司提供咨询。
  • 就国际机场升级改造工程引发的争议为一家与政府有关联的公司提供咨询。纠纷涉及罚款、违约赔偿金和竣工延迟等问题。
  • 在一宗违反信托的索赔案中为印度矿业大亨的遗产担任代理律师,该案涉及对新加坡若干住宅和商业地产、公司股份和其他资产的口头信托,估计价值超过 5 亿美元:报告于 Lakshmi Anil Salgaocar(作为 Anil Vassudeva Salgaocar 的遗产管理人提起诉讼)和另一人诉 Darsan Jitendra Jhaveri 和其他人(Kwan Ka Yu Terence,第三方)[2023] SGHC 47。
  • 在一起涉及高价值稀有艺术品买卖索赔的 20 亿美元纠纷案中,为一名超高净值人士担任代理律师:报道于 Rappo, Tania v Accent Delight International Ltd and another and another appeal [2017] 2 SLR 265。
  • 在一起股票投资虚假陈述索赔案中,代理一名高净值人士向其私人银行家索赔:报告于 Ong Ghee Soon Kevin 诉 Ho Yong Chong [2017] 3 SLR 711。
  • 代理一名高净值人士从一家曾在新加坡上市的近海海运公司的子公司及其董事处追回约 1600 万美元。在申请简易判决后,索赔成功和解。
  • 代理一名高净值人士向其前业务伙伴和顾问索赔,以追回根据口头协议借出的款项。在未提起任何诉讼的情况下成功解决了索赔。
  • 在一起自诉案件中为一名高净值人士担任代理律师,并成功获得无罪释放。
  • 为一家注册慈善机构代理新加坡一座历史建筑的所有权纠纷案。
  • 就针对前雇员和业务伙伴的诉讼为美国一家大型跨国科技公司提供顾问服务。该诉讼涉及复杂的欺诈、合规性缺失、虚假陈述和利益冲突指控,是在一项调查之后开始的。
  • 在一起有关保险条款解释的索赔案中代表一家保险公司:报告于 Huationg (Asia) Pte Ltd 诉 Lonpac Insurance Bhd [2016] 1 SLR 1431。

John Lo

Joint Managing Director

  • Advocate & Solicitor, Supreme Court of Singapore
  • Member, Singapore Institute of Arbitrators (MSiArb)
  • LL.B. (Hons), University of Nottingham (2013)

John Lo is a co-founder and Director of RCL Chambers Law Corporation. John undertakes a broad range of work in the areas of complex commercial arbitration and commercial litigation. He regularly appears before the Singapore Courts and has also been involved in ad hoc arbitrations and arbitrations administered by several institutions.

Prior to setting up RCL Chambers Law Corporation, John practised under the guidance of a top Senior Counsel and in a top ranked US firm.

John has handled joint venture and shareholder disputes, trust and estate disputes, claims involving fraud, cases concerning breaches of directors’ duties, complex contractual and commercial disputes as well as insolvency-related disputes. He has also handled cases involving white-collar crime and employment disputes.

Representative Portfolio

  • Acted for a director of oil trading, ship owning and ship chartering companies in claims for fraudulent trading, undue preference, unlawful dividends and breaches of director’s duties. The value of the claims were in excess of $3.5 billion: partly reported at Lim Oon Kuin and others v Ocean Tankers (Pte) Ltd (interim judicial managers appointed) [2022] 1 SLR 434.
  • Acted for a director of a multi-national materials company headquartered in Singapore in a claim for conspiracy and breaches of directors’ duties, which involved questions of BVI and PRC company law: reported at Hector Finance Group Limited and others v Chan Chew Keak [2023] SGHC 127.
  • Acted for a former director of a technological manufacturing company in a claim for conspiracy and breaches of directors’ duties: reported at Beyonics Asia Pacific Pte Ltd and others v Goh Chan Peng and another [2020] 4 SLR 215; Goh Chan Peng and others v Beyonics Technology Ltd and another and another appeal [2017] 2 SLR 592.
  • Acted for a director of an insolvent fashion business in Singapore in claims for undue preference, undervalue transactions and breaches of directors’ duties: reported at Living the Link Pte Ltd (in creditors’ voluntary liquidation) and others v Tan Lay Tin Tina and others [2016] 3 SLR 621.
  • Advised a shareholder of a property investment business in ongoing disputes with the other shareholders.
  • Acted for the world’s largest shipbuilding company in an ICC arbitration concerning a pipeline and facility that were built to extract natural gas in the Middle East. The claim was valued at approximately $8.5 billion and involved complex and technical allegations about workmanship and defects in the pipeline.
  • Acted for a large Indian retailer in an emergency arbitration against the world’s largest online retailer under the SIAC rules. The claim concerned a billion-dollar proposed sale of the Indian retailer’s business to another conglomerate and has resulted in extensive litigation before the Indian courts.
  • Acted for an industry leading telecommunications operator in a dispute with its joint venture partner concerning the supply and pricing of telecommunications infrastructure for the operation of a 3G mobile network. This was an ad hoc arbitration under the UNCITRAL Rules and the claim was valued at approximately $100 million.
  • Acted for a subsidiary of a Singapore listed company in a dispute against a Chinese state-owned main contractor, arising from the construction and development of a power and desalination facility in Salalah, Oman. This was an ad hoc arbitration under the UNCITRAL Rules seated in England & Wales and administered by the HKIAC. The claim was valued at approximately $20 million.
  • Acted for a US manufacturing multinational in an SIAC arbitration relating to breaches of representations and warranties given in respect of the acquisition of a Chinese business. The claim was valued at approximately $20 million.
  • Advised a Singapore power generating company on its take or pay obligations pursuant to a gas sales agreement and the prospects of referring a dispute to arbitration.
  • Advised a multinational pharmaceuticals company on termination rights under a licensing agreement and the prospects of referring a dispute to arbitration.
  • Advised a government linked company on disputes arising out of the upgrading of an international airport. The disputes concerned issues of penalties, liquidated damages and delay to completion.
  • Acted for the estate of an Indian mining baron in a claim for breach of trust in connection with an oral trust over several residential and commercial properties, shares in companies and other assets in Singapore with an estimated value in excess of $500 million: reported at Lakshmi Anil Salgaocar (suing as the administratrix of the estate of Anil Vassudeva Salgaocar) and another v Darsan Jitendra Jhaveri and others (Kwan Ka Yu Terence, third party) [2023] SGHC 47.
  • Acted for an ultra-high net worth individual in a $2 billion dispute involving claims in relation to the sale and purchase of high-value and rare art works: reported at Rappo, Tania v Accent Delight International Ltd and another and another appeal [2017] 2 SLR 265.
  • Acted for a high net worth individual against his private banker in a claim for misrepresentation of an investment in shares: reported at Ong Ghee Soon Kevin v Ho Yong Chong [2017] 3 SLR 711.
  • Acted for a high net worth individual in the recovery of approximately $16 million from the subsidiary of a formerly listed offshore marine company in Singapore and its director. The claim was successfully settled after an application for summary judgment.
  • Acted for a high net worth individual in claims against a former business associate and advisor to recover sums loaned pursuant to an oral agreement. The claim was successfully settled without commencing any action.
  • Acted for a high net worth individual in a private prosecution and successfully obtaining a discharge amounting to an acquittal.
  • Acted for a registered charity on its disputes concerning the ownership of a historical building in Singapore.
  • Advised a major US technology multinational on litigation against former employees and business associates. The claim involved allegations of complexed fraud, compliance lapses, misrepresentation and conflicts of interest, and was commenced on the back of an investigation.
  • Acted for an insurance company in a claim regarding the interpretation of an insurance policy: reported at Huationg (Asia) Pte Ltd v Lonpac Insurance Bhd [2016] 1 SLR 1431.