Dickson Chew

Of Counsel

  • 新加坡最高法院辩护人兼律师
  • 法学学士(荣誉),新加坡国立大学(毕业于2014 年

Dickson Chew is Of Counsel of RCL Chambers Law Corporation.

Dickson 曾在新加坡各级法院担任律师,拥有丰富的经验,并曾协助新加坡国际仲裁中心管理的仲裁和临时仲裁。

在加入Chambers之前,Dickson 曾在新加坡最大的律师事务所之一接受培训并开始执业,随后在一家由资深律师掌舵的领先律师事务所工作至 2020 年。

Dickson 对商业诉讼和仲裁事务特别感兴趣,尤其是与财产有关的纠纷以及商业和股东纠纷。Dickson 曾在涉及压迫少数股东、违反董事职责、跨境破产索赔和违反股东协议的法律诉讼和仲裁中代表公司股东、董事和债权人。

Dickson 经常为大型房地产开发商和商业机构提供咨询意见,并在广泛的房地产相关纠纷中担任其代表,包括未注册地役权、注册所有权和注意事项、建筑协议和国家租赁、短期住宅和商业租赁、根据《付款保障法》提出的付款索赔、建筑和施工缺陷诉讼、竣工延误以及根据《房屋开发商规则》规定的标准格式住宅买卖合同提出的定金索赔。

Dickson 自 2016 年起被任命为法律援助局的指派律师,并定期协助新加坡国立大学公益办公室开展由学生主导的活动,包括法律意识讲座、社区法律诊所和持久授权书认证。

在校期间,Dickson 曾获得高尔公司法最佳学生奖(Gower Prize for best student in company law),并且是新加坡国立大学公益办公室首批两名驻校公益研究员之一。

代表作品集

  • 为一家从事瑜伽业务的新加坡初创企业提供咨询和代理服务,该企业的少数股东涉及少数股东压迫和不遵守《外国人力雇佣法》(2019 年)。 
  • 代表一组投资者在高等法院起诉一家正在清算的百慕大注册公司,要求在诉前披露与一系列价值约 6000 万美元的可转换贷款协议有关的通信和文件(2018 年)。
  • 在高等法院为一家新加坡餐馆的两名创始成员和董事担任代理律师,就少数股东压迫行为提出索赔,并抵制违反董事职责的指控,最终在庭审前以有利于客户的方式友好和解(2016 年)。
  • 在 SIAC 管理的仲裁中担任律师,该仲裁涉及一家软件解决方案提供商和相互竞争的股东团体,这些股东团体根据《公司法》第 216 条寻求清盘令和对少数股东压迫的救济。
  • 在一宗涉及新加坡建筑师学会标准格式建筑合同的临时仲裁中担任律师,该合同由一家上市酒店开发商与其主要承包商签订,涉及复杂的延误和建筑缺陷问题。
  • 在高等法院成功代理一名外国公民起诉一家国际赌场运营商,要求撤销不规范的外国送达传票令状(2020 年)。
  • 在高等法院代表附属业主起诉住宅公寓的管理公司,质疑主席在年度股东大会上的行为:在 Chan Sze Ying 诉管理公司 Strata Title Plan 第 2948 号(Lee Chuen T'ng, intervener)[2020] SGHC 88 案中报告。
  • 在涉及一个被全球冻结令冻结的大额账户的案件中,为一家本地私人银行提供咨询和代理服务(2017 年)。  
  • 在一宗涉及公司账户持有人的案件中为一家本地私人银行提供顾问服务并担任其代表,该公司账户的最终受益人受到高等法院签发的全球冻结令的限制,冻结金额超过 1 亿美元(2016 年)。 
  • 在一起纠纷中为某高档住宅分层开发项目的开发商提供顾问服务并担任其代表,该纠纷涉及利益相关方所主张的各种交叉索赔的优先权,这些交叉索赔的前提是第三方冻结令、衡平法抵押、已登记的注意事项,以及根据《刑事诉讼法》对涉嫌违反《住宅财产法》的行为下达的扣押令。在高等法院成功代表开发商进行干预并变更冻结令,使客户胜诉(2018 年)。
  • 在高等法院和上诉法院成功代理 SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd 控告其前租户违反租赁协议,造成租金收入损失及其他损失和损害,评估金额为 270 万新元,并抵制了租户关于欺诈性虚假陈述的反诉。该案值得注意的是,法院认定,尽管在租赁谈判期间存在虚假陈述,但承租人仍通过其行为确认了租赁合同,因此承租人无权撤销租赁合同:报道见 Strait Colonies Pte Ltd 诉 SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd [2018] 2 SLR 441;SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd 诉 Strait Colonies Pte Ltd [2017] SGHC 243。
  • 在高等法院为一家领先的住宅公寓建筑公司担任代理律师,客户是管理公司就共同财产缺陷提出索赔的十四名被告之一(2018 年)。
  • 在高等法院代理一家行政公寓的开发商,就管理公司提出的涉及共同财产缺陷和销售手册中的虚假陈述或误导性广告的索赔进行抗辩(2018 年)。 
  • 为一个法定委员会提供咨询和代理服务,审查并重新谈判一个公共景点的商业租赁协议(2018 年)。
  • 在高等法院成功代理一家酒店运营商扣押一家餐馆老板的货物和财产,该餐馆老板拖欠租金超过 30 万新元(2017 年)。
  • 就外墙板脱落引起的保险和侵权索赔为一家甲级写字楼业主提供咨询和代理服务,估计整改费用约为 200 万新元(2017 年)。
  • 代理一家领先的建筑公司作为总承包商,根据《付款保障法》向项目开发商提出裁决索赔,索赔金额超过 600 万新元(2017 年)。
  • 为开发商提供咨询,并代表开发商与行政公寓的两名购买者对抗,以抵制对建筑缺陷的索赔,并成功收回 SAL 根据标准格式买卖合同扣留的股权持有款(2017 年)。 
  • 代表私人住宅公寓开发商在高等法院就管理公司对公共财产缺陷提出的索赔进行抗辩,并以客户胜诉的方式成功解决了这一问题(2016 年)。
  • 在高等法院为一个综合商业开发项目的开发商担任代理律师,就两张约 150 万新元的空头支票提起诉讼(2015 年)。 
  • 在高等法院代理一家软件解决方案公司对其前首席执行官提出的涉及违反雇员和董事义务的索赔案(2019 年)。
  • 代表一家领先的韩国半导体公司在高等法院起诉其前销售经理不当转移业务机会和违反员工义务(2018 年)。  
  • 针对一家总部位于美国的大型软件公司前雇员提出的涉及不当解雇、违反保密规定、雇佣合同中的非邀约条款以及追讨未付工资和报销费用的索赔,为该公司提供顾问服务并担任其代理(2016 年)。
  • 在地区法院为一名辩护人和律师代理,起诉其前律师事务所,追讨合同奖金和无薪假期(2015 年)。
  • 为一个法定委员会提供有关小贩中心租约的外聘法律顾问服务(2019 年)。
  • 担任一家全球数据主机托管服务提供商的外聘法律顾问,为其亚太地区法律部门的额外工作提供咨询和代理服务(2017 年)。

Dickson Chew

Of Counsel

  • Advocate & Solicitor, Supreme Court of Singapore
  • LL.B. (Hons), National University of Singapore (2014)

Dickson Chew is Of Counsel of RCL Chambers Law Corporation.

Dickson brings a breadth of experience as counsel at all levels of the Singapore Courts and has assisted in the conduct of arbitrations administered by the Singapore International Arbitration Centre and ad-hoc arbitration.

Prior to joining Chambers, Dickson was trained by and started his practice at one of the largest law firms in Singapore and subsequently worked for a leading law chambers helmed by a Senior Counsel until 2020.

Dickson has a particular interest in commercial litigation and arbitration matters especially in property-related disputes and commercial and shareholder disputes. Dickson has acted for corporate shareholders, directors and creditors in legal proceedings and arbitration involving minority oppression, breach of director’s duties, cross-border insolvency claims and breach of shareholder’s agreements.

Dickson frequently advised and represented major property developers and commercial organisations in an extensive range of property-related disputes including unregistered easement, registered titles and caveats, building agreements and State leases, short-term residential and commercial leases, payment claims under the Security of Payment Act, building and construction defects litigation, completion delays and stake-holding monies claims under standard-form residential sale and purchase agreements prescribed by the Housing Developers Rules.

Dickson has been appointed Assigned Solicitor with the Legal Aid Bureau since 2016 and regularly assists the NUS Pro Bono Office with student-led initiatives including legal awareness talks, community legal clinics and certification of Lasting Powers of Attorney.

In school, Dickson won the Gower Prize for best student in company law and was one of two inaugural Resident Pro Bono Fellows with the NUS Pro Bono Office.

Representative Portfolio

  • Advised and represented a Singapore start-up in the yoga business against a minority shareholder involving minority oppression and non-compliance with the Employment of Foreign Manpower Act (2019). 
  • Acted for a group of investors in the High Court against a Bermuda-incorporated company in liquidation for pre-action discovery of correspondence and documents in connection with a series of convertible loan agreements valued at approximately US$60 million (2018).
  • Acted for two founding members and directors of a Singapore restaurant in the High Court to claim for minority oppression and to resist the allegation of breach of directors’ duties with the matter settled amicably before trial in the clients’ favour (2016).
  • Acted as counsel in an SIAC administered arbitration involving a software solutions provider and competing groups of shareholders who were seeking a winding up order and relief from minority oppression under section 216 of the Companies Act.
  • Acted as counsel in an ad-hoc arbitration involving a Singapore Institute of Architect standard form construction contract between a listed hotel developer and its main contractor involving complex issues of delay and construction defects.
  • Successfully acted for a foreign national in the High Court against an international casino operator to set aside irregular foreign service of the writ of summons (2020).
  • Acted for a subsidiary proprietor in the High Court against the management corporation of a residential condominium to challenge the chairman’s conduct of the annual general meeting: reported in Chan Sze Ying v Management Corporation Strata Title Plan No 2948 (Lee Chuen T’ng, intervener) [2020] SGHC 88.
  • Advised and represented a local private bank in a matter involving a substantial account who was subject to a worldwide freezing injunction (2017).  
  • Advised and represented a local private bank in a matter involving a corporate account holder whose ultimate beneficial owner was subject to a worldwide freezing injunction issued by the High Court in excess of US$100 million (2016). 
  • Advised and represented the developer of an up-market residential strata development in a dispute involving the priorities of various crossclaims asserted by interested parties that were premised on third-party freezing injunction, equitable mortgages, registered caveats, and an order of seizure pursuant to the Criminal Procedure Code for alleged contraventions of the Residential Property Act. Successfully acted for the developer in the High Court to intervene and vary the freezing injunction in the client’s favour (2018).
  • Successfully acted for SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd against its former tenant in the High Court and Court of Appeal for breach of the tenancy agreement with loss of rental income and other loss and damage assessed at S$2.7 million and resisting the tenant’s counterclaim for fraudulent misrepresentation. This matter is notable because the Court found that the tenant had by its conduct affirmed the lease notwithstanding a misrepresentation that was made during the lease negotiation and the tenant was accordingly not entitled to rescind the lease: reported in Strait Colonies Pte Ltd v SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd [2018] 2 SLR 441; SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd v Strait Colonies Pte Ltd [2017] SGHC 243.
  • Acted for a leading construction company of a residential condominium in the High Court whereby the client was one of fourteen defendants in a claim brought by the management corporation for common property defects (2018).
  • Acted for the developer of an executive condominium in the High Court to defend a claim by the management corporation involving common property defects and misrepresentation or misleading advertisement in the sale brochure (2018). 
  • Advised and represented a statutory board to review and re-negotiate a commercial tenancy agreement for a public attraction (2018).
  • Successfully acted for a hotel operator in the High Court to distrain the goods and property of a restaurant owner whose rental arrears exceeded S$300,000 (2017).
  • Advised and represented a Grade A office building owner on insurance and tortious claims arising from falling façade panel with estimated rectification costs of about S$2 million (2017).
  • Acted for a leading construction company engaged as a main contractor to file an adjudication claim against the project developer under the Security of Payments Act with payment claims exceeding S$6 million (2017).
  • Advised and represented the developer against two purchasers of an executive condominium to resist claims for construction defects and successfully recovered stake holding monies withheld by SAL under the standard form sale and purchase agreements (2017). 
  • Acted for the developer of a private residential condominium in the High Court to defend a claim by the management corporation for common property defects with the matter successfully resolved in the client’s favour (2016).
  • Acted for the developer of a mixed-use commercial development in the High Court to sue on two dishonoured cheques of approximately S$1.5 million (2015). 
  • Acted for a software solutions company in the High Court against its former Chief Executive Officer in a claim involving breach of employee and director duties (2019).
  • Acted for a leading Korean semiconductor company in the High Court against its former sales manager for wrongful diversion of business opportunities and breach of employee duties (2018).  
  • Advised and represented a major US-based software company against its former employee’s claim involving wrongful dismissal, breach of confidentiality, non-solicitation clause in the employment contract and recovery of unpaid salaries and reimbursement (2016).
  • Acted for an advocate and solicitor in the District Court against her former law firm to recover contractual bonus and unpaid leave (2015).
  • External counsel for a statutory board concerning hawker centre tenancy agreements (2019).
  • External counsel to advise and represent a global data co-location service provider for the overflow work of its Asia Pacific legal department (2017).