刑事辩护诉讼

我们的团队拥有多年的刑事律师经验,经常在新加坡各级法院为涉及蓝领和白领犯罪的被告进行辩护。

我们精通刑事诉讼程序的方方面面,努力为根据《刑法典》或《计算机滥用法》、《濒危物种(进出口)法》、《移民法》、《传染病法》和《预防腐败法》等法律面临刑事调查或起诉的客户取得最佳结果。

除被告人外,我们还经常为公司客户及其高管提供有关在线出版物刑事责任的建议和代理服务。我们还经常受聘担任领先国际公司的外部顾问,帮助他们熟悉当地的法律环境。

代表性案例

  • 在地方法院为一名被控违反《计算机滥用法》、根据第 378 条盗窃其前女友的信用卡以及根据《刑法典》(2022 年)第 203 条提供虚假信息的个人辩护。
  • 根据《刑法典》第 354 条(2022 年),在地方法院为一名被控有伤风化罪的男护士辩护。
  • 在根据《刑事诉讼法》第 251 条提出的附属申请中代表被告出庭,该申请是在被告以精神不健全为由被宣告谋杀罪名不成立后,要求法院下达适当的拘押令:在 Tan Kok Meng 诉检察官 [2021] 2 SLR 403 一案中作了报告。
  • 根据《刑法典》第 420条(2021年),在地方法院为一家被控欺骗的防火包层供应商及其董事辩护。
  • 根据《刑法典》第 420 条和《预防腐败法》第 6 条,在地方法院为一名董事辩护,该董事被指控在当地一所大学(2021 年)多家附属公司的采购过程中收受回扣。
  • 在特别组成的五人上诉法院审理的一起具有里程碑意义的案件中,成功地为一家私人有限公司及其董事辩护,该案件涉及根据《濒危物种(进出口)法》提起的诉讼: 在Kong Hoo (Pte) Ltd and another v Public Prosecutor [2019] 1 SLR 1131;Public Prosecutor v Kong Hoo (Pte) Ltd and another appeal [2017] 4 SLR 1291;Public Prosecutor v Kong Hoo (Pte) Ltd and another appeal [2017] 4 SLR 421;Public Prosecutor v Wong Wee Keong and another appeal [2016] 3 SLR 965;Public Prosecutor v Wong Wee Keong and another [2015] SGDC 300中报道。
  • 在地区法院和高等法院为一名被控未向性伴侣披露其艾滋病毒感染状况从而违反《传染病法》第 23(1)条的个人辩护。该案的显著特点是考虑了法律规定的艾滋病毒呈阳性者披露义务的范围,并制定了根据第 23 条提起的不披露罪行的量刑框架:在 GCP v Public Prosecutor [2019] 5 SLR 626;Public Prosecutor v GCP [2018] SGDC 220 中进行了报道
  • 就根据《移民法》(2018 年)下达的驱逐令,向一位越南铝业巨头提供司法审查和针对政府的禁令救济方面的咨询和代理服务。
  • 在 1MDB 案件中为一名被指控的关键人物提供咨询和代理服务,使其获得胜诉结果(2018 年)。
  • 在地区法院为一名在船舶加油案件中被控欺骗和违反《计算机滥用法》的个人辩护(2018 年)。
  • 在地区法院和高等法院的一宗受雇人刑事背信起诉案中,为一所中学的前校长辩护,该案因规定了根据《刑法典》第 406 和 408 条所犯罪行的量刑框架而备受关注:在 Tan Kim Hock Anthony 诉公诉人和另一起上诉案 [2014] 2 SLR 795;公诉人诉 Tan Kim Hock Anthony [2013] SGDC 114 中进行了报道。

更多业务领域

Search
Close this search box.

Criminal Defence Litigation

Our team has many years of experience at the criminal bar, and regularly conducts the defence of accused persons involved in blue and white-collar crimes at all levels of the Singapore Courts.

We are well-versed in every aspect of criminal procedure and strive to obtain the very best results for clients facing criminal investigations or prosecutions under the Penal Code or legislation such as the Computer Misuse Act, Endangered Species (Import and Export) Act, Immigration Act, Infectious Diseases Act and Prevention of Corruption Act.

Apart from accused persons, we are often sought after to advise and represent corporate clients and their officers on criminal liabilities attaching to online publications. We are also routinely retained as external counsels to leading international companies to navigate the local legal landscape.

Representative cases

  • Defended an individual in the District Court who was charged with contravening the Computer Misuse Act, theft of his ex-girlfriend’s credit card under section 378 and giving false information under section 203 of the Penal Code (2022).
  • Defended a male nurse in the District Court who was charged with outrage of modesty under section 354 of the Penal Code (2022).
  • Appeared before the Court of Appeal to an accused in the ancillary application under section 251 of the Criminal Procedure Code for the appropriate committal orders to be made, following his acquittal of the murder charge on the ground of unsoundness of mind: reported in Tan Kok Meng v Public Prosecutor [2021] 2 SLR 403.
  • Defended a fireproofing cladding supplier and its director in the District Court who was charged with cheating under section 420 of the Penal Code (2021).
  • Defended a director in the District Court who was charged under section 420 of the Penal Code and section 6 of the Prevention of Corruption Act for taking kickbacks during the procurement process of various subsidiary companies of a local university (2021).
  • Successfully defended a private limited company and its director in a landmark case before a specially constituted five-member Court of Appeal concerning a prosecution under the Endangered Species (Import and Export) Act: reported in Kong Hoo (Pte) Ltd and another v Public Prosecutor [2019] 1 SLR 1131; Public Prosecutor v Kong Hoo (Pte) Ltd and another appeal [2017] 4 SLR 1291; Public Prosecutor v Kong Hoo (Pte) Ltd and another appeal [2017] 4 SLR 421; Public Prosecutor v Wong Wee Keong and another appeal [2016] 3 SLR 965; Public Prosecutor v Wong Wee Keong and another [2015] SGDC 300.
  • Defended an individual in the District Court and High Court who was charged with failing to disclose his HIV status to his sexual partner, which thereby contravened section 23(1) of the Infectious Diseases Act. The case is notable for considering the scope of an HIV-positive individual’s disclosure obligation under the law and for setting out the sentencing framework for non-disclosure offences brought under section 23: reported in GCP v Public Prosecutor [2019] 5 SLR 626; Public Prosecutor v GCP [2018] SGDC 220.
  • Advised and represented a Vietnamese aluminium magnate on judicial review and injunctive relief against the Government as a result of a deportation order made under the Immigration Act (2018).
  • Advised and represented an alleged key individual in the 1MDB case to obtain a successful outcome (2018).
  • Defended an individual in the District Court who was charged with cheating and contraventions of the Computer Misuse Act in a ship bunkering case (2018).
  • Defended the former principal of a secondary school in the District Court and High Court in a prosecution for criminal breach of trust by a servant, which is notable for setting out the sentencing framework for offences brought under sections 406 and 408 of the Penal Code: reported in Tan Kim Hock Anthony v Public Prosecutor and another appeal [2014] 2 SLR 795; Public Prosecutor v Tan Kim Hock Anthony [2013] SGDC 114.

More Areas of Practice

Search
Close this search box.