财产纠纷以及信托和衡平索赔

我们精通广泛的财产相关纠纷,涉及未注册地役权、注册所有权和注意事项、抵押贷款、建筑协议和国家租赁、短期住宅和商业租赁、根据《付款保障法》提出的付款索赔、建筑和施工缺陷、竣工延误以及根据《住房开发商规则》标准格式合同追回股权持有款。

我们的团队在代表客户处理复杂的信托索赔案(涉及普通意图推定信托和结果信托)以及就冻结令和临时所有权禁令等临时措施向客户提供建议方面拥有丰富经验。

代表性案例

  • 在一起具有里程碑意义的案件中,作为受聘律师在上诉法院出庭,该案明确解释了是否可以产生有利于有权获得组屋商铺物业的个人的共同意向推定信托:在 Ong Chai Soon v Ong Chai Koon and others [2022] SGCA 36 一案中报道。
  • 在高等法院成功代理一名个人具体执行价值 200 万新元(2021年)的两处住宅物业转让的和解协议。
  • 在上诉法院成功代理一名执行债权人获得判决债务人不动产抵押权人出售不动产所得出售收益的优先权。具体而言,上诉法院有机会审查和澄清适用于扣押和出售注册土地的法律和执行程序:在Singapore Air Charter Pte Ltd v Peter Low & Choo LLC and another [2020] 2 SLR 1399、Peter Low & Choo LLC v Singapore Air Charter Pte Ltd and another [2019] SGHC 89、Peter Low LLC v Higgins, Danial Patrick [2017] SGHCR 18中均有报道。
  • 在一起纠纷中为某高档住宅分层开发项目的开发商提供顾问服务并担任其代表,该纠纷涉及利益相关方所主张的各种交叉索赔的优先权,这些交叉索赔的前提是第三方冻结令、衡平法抵押、已登记的注意事项,以及根据《刑事诉讼法》对涉嫌违反《住宅财产法》的行为下达的扣押令。在高等法院成功代表开发商进行干预并变更冻结令,使客户胜诉(2018 年)。
  • 在高等法院和上诉法院成功代理 SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd 控告其前租户违反租赁协议,造成租金收入损失及其他损失和损害,评估金额为 270 万新元,并抵制了租户关于欺诈性虚假陈述的反诉。该案值得注意的是,法院认定,尽管在租赁谈判期间存在虚假陈述,但承租人仍通过其行为确认了租赁合同,因此承租人无权撤销租赁合同:报道见 Strait Colonies Pte Ltd 诉 SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd [2018] 2 SLR 441;SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd 诉 Strait Colonies Pte Ltd [2017] SGHC 243。

更多业务领域

Property Disputes and Trust and Equitable Claims

We are well-versed in a wide range of property-related disputes involving unregistered easements, registered titles and caveats, mortgages, building agreements and State leases, short-term residential and commercial leases, payment claims under the Security of Payment Act, building and construction defects, completion delays and recovery of stake-holding monies under Housing Developers Rules standard-form contracts.

Our team has experience representing clients in complex trust claims involving common intention constructive trusts and resulting trusts, and in advising clients on interim measures such as freezing injunctions and interim proprietary injunctions.

Representative cases

  • Appeared as instructed counsel before the Court of Appeal in a landmark case definitively interpreting whether or not a common intention constructive trust can arise in favour of individuals entitled to HDB shophouse property: reported in Ong Chai Soon v Ong Chai Koon and others [2022] SGCA 36.
  • Successfully acted for an individual in the High Court to specifically enforce a settlement agreement for the transfer of two residential properties valued at S$2 million (2021).
  • Successfully acted for an execution creditor in the Court of Appeal to obtain priority to the sale proceeds arising from a mortgagee sale of immovable property of the judgment debtor. Specifically, the Court of Appeal had the occasion to review and clarify the law and the enforcement procedure that is applicable to the seizure and sale of registered land: reported in Singapore Air Charter Pte Ltd v Peter Low & Choo LLC and another [2020] 2 SLR 1399; Peter Low & Choo LLC v Singapore Air Charter Pte Ltd and another [2019] SGHC 89; Peter Low LLC v Higgins, Danial Patrick [2017] SGHCR 18.
  • Advised and represented the developer of an up-market residential strata development in a dispute involving the priorities of various crossclaims asserted by interested parties that were premised on third-party freezing injunction, equitable mortgages, registered caveats, and an order of seizure pursuant to the Criminal Procedure Code for alleged contraventions of the Residential Property Act. Successfully acted for the developer in the High Court to intervene and vary the freezing injunction in the client’s favour (2018).
  • Successfully acted for SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd against its former tenant in the High Court and Court of Appeal for breach of the tenancy agreement with loss of rental income and other loss and damage assessed at S$2.7 million and resisting the tenant’s counterclaim for fraudulent misrepresentation. This matter is notable because the Court found that the tenant had by its conduct affirmed the lease notwithstanding a misrepresentation that was made during the lease negotiation and the tenant was accordingly not entitled to rescind the lease: reported in Strait Colonies Pte Ltd v SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd [2018] 2 SLR 441; SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd v Strait Colonies Pte Ltd [2017] SGHC 243.

More Areas of Practice

Search
Close this search box.